MONTGOMERY COLLEGE GOVERNANCE College Council March 27, 2018; 2:30-4:30 pm; CTS108

Attendees

- Members present: David Anthony, Cathy Giovannetti, Tonya Baker, Shane Doyle, Daniel Santore, Page Whittenburg, Rich Cerkovnik, Ernest Cartledge, Patrick Feehan, Dorothy Umans, Joel Martinez, Tilandra Rhyne and Annick Tentchou
- Atul Roy as proxy for Marcella Karp
- Guests: Dr. Tacy Holliday, Dr. Michelle Scott, Dr. Monica Brown, Dr. Wormack, Mr. Brad Pabian, and Dr. Clevette Ridguard

Call to Order

Chair David Anthony called the regular meeting to order at 2:36 pm

Constituent Comments

There were no constituent concerns.

Approval of Minutes (February 27, 2018)

Approved as submitted.

Faculty Council Recommendation (Page Whittenburg)

- Page Whittenburg made a motion to "request that 3 ESH be allotted for a co-chair for Faculty Council" for academic year 2018-2019. Seconded.
 - o After discussion, a vote was taken. Unanimous. Motion passed.

Employee Services Council (Bylaw change) (Rich Cerkovnik)

- Chair David Anthony read Article VI, Section B, "Amending the Bylaws," from the Participatory Governance Constitution.
- Rich Cerkovnik made a motion to "recommend that the Chief Equity Inclusion Officer (or representative) be a permanent member of the Employee Engagement Advisory Group, a standing committee on the Employee Service Council." Seconded.
 - After discussion, a vote was taken. 8 voted in favor (Doyle, Cerkovnik, Cartledge, Feehan, Martinez, Rhyne, Roy, and Tentchou). 5 opposed (Anthony, Giovannetti, Baker, Whittenburg, and Umans). A two-thirds majority is required to pass the motion, therefore motion does not pass.

Employee Services Council (Governance Constitution Amendment) (Rich Cerkovnik)

- Chair David Anthony read Article VI, Section A, "Amending the Constitution," from the Participatory Governance Constitution.
- Rich Cerkovnik made a motion to "recommend the part-time faculty representation on the four functional councils be increased from one part-time faculty member to two part-time faculty members per functional council." Seconded.

 After discussion, a vote was taken. 9 voted in favor (Doyle, Whittenburg, Cerkovnik, Cartledge, Feehan, Umans, Martinez, Rhyne, Roy). 3 opposed (Anthony, Giovannetti, Baker). 1 abstained (Tentchou). A two-thirds majority is required to pass the motion, therefore the motion passes.

Student Council Recommendations (Annick Tentchou)

- Chair David Anthony noted an amendment to the agenda: the recommendation regarding Echo
 360 has been tabled until Student Council has an opportunity to gather more information.
- Annick Tentchou made a motion to "recommend that feminine hygiene products be made available in the women's restrooms on all three campuses." Seconded.
 - o After discussion, a vote was taken. Unanimous. Motion passed.
- Annick Tentchou made a motion to "recommend that MC have shuttles that are larger (more seat capacity), run more frequently, and have extended hours of operation." Seconded.
 - o After discussion, a vote was taken. Unanimous. Motion passed.
- Annick Tentchou made a motion to "recommend that the College extend library hours until 12:00 am during the week before and during final exams in order to aid in students' academic success." Seconded.
 - After discussion, a vote was taken. 11 voted in favor (Anthony, Giovannetti, Baker, Doyle, Whittenburg, Cerkovnik, Cartledge, Feehan, Umans, Martinez, Roy, Tentchou) 1 was opposed (Rhyne). Motion passed.
- Annick Tentchou made a motion to "recommend that MC relabel some of the single-use bathrooms on all three campuses to gender-neutral bathrooms." Seconded.
- After discussion, Patrick Feehan made a motion "to table the recommendation until the request can be clarified." Seconded.
 - Vote taken. 11 voted in favor (Anthony, Giovannetti, Baker, Doyle, Whittenburg, Cerkovnik, Cartledge, Feehan, Umans, Martinez, Rhyne, Roy). 1 was opposed (Tentchou). Motion is tabled.

College Council Governance Year 2018-2019 Chair Election

- Director of Governance announced that she will be on unpaid leave for a year. Dr. Clevette Ridguard and Mr. Brad Pabian will work together to fill this role.
- Dr. Holliday ran the election for College Council Chair for 2018-2019
 - o Cathy Giovannetti was elected chair of the College Council for 2018-2019

Announcements/Agenda Items for Next Time

 Chair David Anthony recognized and thanked Dr. Michelle Scott for all the work she did coordinating the Middle States Accreditors' campus visit.

Meeting adjourned at 4:19 pm

Tonya Baker, College Council Secretary