MONTGOMERY COLLEGE GOVERNANCE

Staff Council Minutes

May 6, 2021 1:00pm-3:00pm (Via Zoom)

Attendees:

- Members Present: Shakenna Adams-Gormley (Chair), Daphne Alfelor (Secretary), Ramon De La Cruz (Vice Chair), Alton Henley, Dwayne Henry, Surayya Johnson, Beth Reilly, Tilandra Rhyne, Carroll Rollman, Kristina Schramm, Christopher Standing, Amanda Stroud, Matt Wilson
- Members Absent: Brooke Crothers
- Incoming Members Present: Nell D. Feldman, Bo Wai Chan, Javon Lamar Inman

Call to Order

• The regular meeting was called to order at 1:01 pm by Chair Shakenna Adams-Gormley.

Meeting Minutes

• The minutes for the March 4, 2021 and April 15, 2021 meetings were approved as written.

Constituent Concerns

 Amanda Stroud brought forward a constituent concern regarding the policy for nominating staff for outstanding service. A manager couldn't nominate a staff for recognition because they're casual-temp.

New Business/Old Business

- Follow up on constituent concern regarding compensation. Chris Standing will report back with any new information.
- Goals have been completed for this year.
- Ramon De La Cruz is editing the Governance video and will forward to Dr. Clevette Ridguard and Yvette Taylor for review.
- Letters were sent to 2nd and 3rd shift employees. Follow up in fall 2021.

Chair's Report - Shakenna Adams-Gormley

No chair's report.

Election of 2021-2022 Officers

- Chair Ramon De La Cruz was nominated by Matthew Wilson, seconded by Christopher Standing. Kristina Schramm was nominated by Ramon De La Cruz. Kristina declined. Ramon De La Cruz is accepted as Chair – ran unopposed.
- Vice Chair Dwayne Henry was nominated by Christopher Standing. Dwayne declined. Alton
 Henley nominated by Christopher Standing. Alton declined. Daphne Alfelor nominated by
 Ramon De La Cruz, seconded by Dwayne Henry. Beth Reilly was nominated by Surraya
 Johnson, seconded by Dwayne Henry. Amanda Stroud was nominated by Christopher
 Standing. Amanda declined. Votes were tallied and Daphne Alfelor was voted as Vice Chair.

• **Secretary** – Beth Reilly was nominated by Dwayne Henry, seconded by Amanda Stroud. Bo Chan was nominated by Daphne Alfelor. Bo declined. Surraya Johnson was nominated by Ramon De La Cruz. Surraya declined. Christopher Standing was nominated by Dwayne Henry. Chris declined. Beth Reilly is accepted as Secretary – ran unopposed.

Announcements and Agenda Items for Next Meeting

- Mandatory Governance training is scheduled in the fall 2021.
- Complete Governance video

Adjourned at 1:46 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by Daphne Alfelor, Staff Council Secretary