. Link to Home - Montgomery College Maryland
MC Home MC HOME Calendar of Events CALENDAR OF EVENTS Maps & Directions MAPS & DIRECTIONS Search SEARCH  
Department of Chemistry, Rockville Campus

CHEMISTRY FACULTY & STAFF

DEPARTMENT CHAIR & STAFF
Dr. Laura Anna, Department ChairDr. Laura Anna
Phone: 240-567-5489
Email: Laura.Anna@montgomerycollege.edu
Office Room:  SC 331C
Office Hours: MW 11:00 - 12:00 p.m., R 1:30 - 2:30 p.m.
Spring 2014 Courses: CH204 lecture/discussion/lab/honors
Educational Background:
  • B.S. Chemistry, Indiana University of Pennsylvania
  • Ph.D. Organic Chemistry, University of Michigan
  • Anne Fernando, Administrative Aide
     Phone:
    240-567-5129
    Email: anne.fernando@montgomerycollege.edu
    Office Room: SC 331B
    Sharon Coope, Lab Manager
    Phone: 240-567-4112
    Email: sharon.coope@montgomerycollege.edu
    Office Room: SC 331Q
    Mary Sharif, Instructional Lab Coordinator
    Phone: 240-567-1764
    Email: mary.sharif@montgomerycollege.edu
    Office Room: SC 312
    Kathleen Robbins, Instructional Lab Associate
    Phone: 240-567-7928
    Email: kathleen.robbins@montgomerycollege.edu
    Office Room: SC 334
    Christin Slaughter, Instructional Lab Assistant
    Phone: 240-567-5465
    Email: christin.slaughter@montgomerycollege.edu
    Office Room: SC 325
    Charles Jenkins, Instructional Lab Assistant
    Phone: 240-567-5465
    Email: charles.jenkins@montgomerycollege.edu
    Office Room: SC 325
    FULL-TIME FACULTY
    Dr. Craig Benson
    Phone: 240-567-4352
    Email: Craig.Benson@montgomerycollege.edu
    Office Room: SC 339
    Office Hours: W 9:45 - 10:45 a.m., R 11:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.,
    F 12:45 - 1:45 p.m., or by appointment
    Spring 2014 Courses: CH109A, CH101 lecture/discussion/lab
    Educational Background:
  • B.S. Chemistry, Brandeis University
  • Ph.D. George Washington University
  • Dr. Warren GrantWarren Grant
    Phone: 240-567-7632
    Email: Warren.Grant@montgomerycollege.edu
    Retired
    Educational Background:
  • A.B. Chemistry, Talladega College
  • M.S. Physical Chemistry, Howard University
  • Ph.D. Physical Chemistry, Howard University 
  • Dr. Alan HeynAlan Heyn
    Phone: 240-567-7633
    Email: Alan.Heyn@montgomerycollege.edu
    Office Room: SC 331J
    Office Hours: By appointment
    Spring 2014 Courses: CH204 lecture/discussion/lab
    Educational Background:
  • B.S. Chemistry, University of Illinois
  • M.S. Organic Chemistry, The Pennsylvania State University
  • Ph.D. Organic Chemistry, University of Maryland, College Park
  • Orna KutaiDr. Orna Kutai
    Phone: 240-567-5487
    Email: Orna.Kutai@montgomerycollege.edu
    Office Room: SC 338
    Office Hours: M 12:50 - 1:50 p.m., T 10:20 - 10:50 a.m.
    W 11:00 - 11:30 a.m./12:50 - 1:50 p.m., or by appointment
    Spring 2014 Courses: CH101 lecture/discussion/lab
    Educational Background:
  • A.B. Chemistry, Mount Holyoke College
  • M.S. Material Science, University of Connecticut
  • Ph.D. Polymer Chemistry, University of Connecticut
  • Virginia Miller
    Phone: 240-567-7621
    Email: Virginia.Miller@montgomerycollege.edu
    Office Room: SC 331L
    Office Hours: M 12:00 -2:00 p.m., R 9:00 - 10:00 a.m.
    Spring 2014 Courses: CH099A, CH101 lecture/discussion
    Educational Background:
  • B.S. Chemistry, Rider University
  • Ph.D. Chemistry, Princeton University
  • Prof. Abner MintzAbner Mintz
    Phone: 240-567-4236
    Email: Abner.Mintz@montgomerycollege.edu
    Office Room: SC 331D
    Office Hours: MWF 10:30 - 10:50 a.m., MWF 12:00 -12:50 p.m.,
    F 2:00 - 2:30 p.m., TR 11:50 a.m. - 12:20 p.m., R 3:00 - 3:30 p.m.
    Spring 2014 Courses: CH101 lecture/discussion, CH135 lecture/discussion/lab
    Educational Background:
  • B.S. Chemistry, The Pennsylvania State University
  • B.S. Physics, The Pennsylvania State University
  • M.S. Chemistry, California Institute of Technology
  • Dr. Rachel NdonyeRachel Ndonye
    Phone: 240-567-7636
    Email: Rachel.Ndonye@montgomerycollege.edu
    Office Room: SC 331G
    Office Hours: M 10:00 - 11:00 a.m., W 2:00 - 3:00 p.m., R 8:30 - 9:30 a.m.
    or by appointment
    Spring 2014 Courses: CH099A, CH203 lecture/discussion/lab
    Educational Background:
  • B.S. Chemistry, University of Nairobi
  • Ph.D. Organic Chemistry, University of Connecticut
  • Dr. Sripriya SeetharamanSripriya Seetharaman
    Phone: 240-567-7622
    Email: Sripriya.Seetharaman@montgomerycollege.edu
    Office Room: SC 331N
    Office Hours: M 1:00 - 1:50 p.m., W 10:00 - 10:50 a.m., F 10:00 - 10:50 a.m.
    Spring 2014 Courses: CH099A, CH203 lecture/discussion/lab
    Educational Background:
  • B.Sc. Chemistry, University of Madras, Chennai, India
  • M.Sc Chemistry, Indian Institute of Technology (Chennai), Chennai, India
  • Ph.D. Organometallic Chemistry, Syracuse University
  • Prof. Nevart TahmazianNevart Tahmazian
    Phone: 240-567-7635
    Email: Nevart.Tahmazian@montgomerycollege.edu
    Office Room: SC 331F
    Office Hours: M 1:30 - 2:30 p.m., R 12:30 - 1:30 p.m., F 11:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.
    Spring 2014 Courses: CH109A, CH109B, CH101 lecture/discussion/lab
    Prof. Tahmazian's Web site
    Educational Background:
  • B.S. Chemistry (with teaching diploma in secondary science education), The American University of Beirut
  • M.A. Science Education (chemistry concentration), The American University of Beirut
  • Certification for Clinical Laboratory Specialist in Cytogenetics (ACT), George Washington University
  • M.S. Analytical, Nuclear and Environmental Chemistry, University of Maryland, College Park
  • Patricia Takahara
    Phone: 240-567-4086
    Email: Patricia.Takahara@montgomerycollege.edu
    Office Room: SC 340
    Office Hours: M 10:00 - 11:00 a.m., W 11:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.,
    R 10:00 - 11:00 a.m.,  or by appointment
    Spring 2014 Courses: CH102 lecture/discussion/lab,
    CH135 lecture/discussion/lab
    Educational Background:
    ■  B.S. Chemistry, UC Berkeley
    ■  Ph.D. MIT
    Dr. Timothy WattTimothy Watt
    Phone: 240-567-7624
    Email: Tim.Watt@montgomerycollege.edu
    Office Room: SC 331E
    Office Hours: MT 11:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m., F 8:30 - 9:30 a.m.
    Spring 2014: CH101 lecture/discussion/lab,
    CH102 lecture/discussion/lab
    Educational Background:
  • B.S. Chemistry, University of Vermont
  • Ph.D. Inorganic Chemistry, University of Maryland, College Park
  •  
    PART-TIME FACULTY
    Soojay Banerjee
    Email: Soojay.Banerjee@montgomerycollege.edu
    Spring 2014 Courses: CH099A lecture
    Office: SC 336, 240-567-7637
    Office Hours: By appointment
    Maha Czapary
    Email: Maha.Czapary@montgomerycollege.edu
    Spring 2014 Courses: CH099A lecture
    Office: SC 331M, 240-567-5463
    Office Hours: MW 6:20 - 6:50 p.m.
    Howard Dobres
    Email:
    Howard.Dobres@montgomerycollege.edu
    Spring 2014 Courses:
    CH120 lecture/lab
    Office:
    SC 341, 240-567-5407
    Office Hours:
    M 10:15 - 10:45 a.m. or by appointment
    Stanley Friedman
    Email:
    Stan.Friedman@montgomerycollege.edu
    Spring 2014Courses:
    CH135 lecture/discussion/lab
    CH101 lab
    Office:
    SC 341, 240-567-5407
    Office Hours: 
    MW 5:00 -5:30 p.m., T 8:45 - 9:15 a.m.
    Richard Hilderbrandt
    Email:Richard.Hilderbrandt@montgomerycollege.edu Spring 2014 Courses: CH102 lecture/discussion/lab
    Office: SC 337, 240-567-5461
    Office Hours: TR 3:00 - 5:00 p.m.
    Dilrukshi Jayasekera
    Email:Dilrukshi.Jayasekera@montgomerycollege.edu Spring 2014 Courses: CH101 lecture/discussion
    Office: SC 341, 240-567-5407
    Office Hours: M 10:00 - 10:30 a.m. or by appointment
    Suzanne Johnson
    Email: Suzanne.Johnson@montgomerycollege.edu
    Spring 2014 Courses: CH102lecture/discussion/lab
    Office: SC 341, 240-567-5407
    Office Hours: T 12:15 - 12:45 p.m.
    W 3:00 - 3:30 p.m. or by appointment
    Maryna Lvovska
    Email: Maryna.Lvovska@montgomerycollege.edu
    Spring 2014 Courses: CH101 lecture/discussion/lab
    Office:
    SC 336, 240-567-7637
    Office Hours: R 5:00 -5:45 p.m.
    Buddhadeb Mallik
    Email: Buddhadeb.Mallik@montgomerycollege.edu
    Spring 2014 Courses: CH102 lecture/discussion/lab
    Office: SC 331M, 240-567-5463
    Office Hours: By appointment
    David Neumann
    Email: David.Neumann@montgomerycollege.edu
    Spring 2014 Courses: CH101 lecture/discussion/lab
    Office: SC 337, 240-567-5461
    Office Hours: T 3:45 - 4:30 p.m./5:30 - 6:00 p.m.
    R 5:30 - 6:00 p.m.
    Jeanita Pritchett
    Email: Jeanita.Pritchett@montgomerycollege.edu
    Spring 2014 Courses: CH101 lecture/discussion/lab
    Office: SC 336, 240-567-7637
    Office Hours: by email or appointment
    Ali Saboori
    Email: Ali.Saboori@montgomerycollege.edu
    Spring 2014 Courses: CH101 lab
    Office: SC 337, 240-567-5461
    Office Hours: Before and after lab
    Sunita Thyagarajan
    Email: Sunita.Thyagarajan@montgomerycollege.edu
    Spring 2014 Courses:
    CH204 lecture/discussion/lab/honors
    Office:
    SC 331N, 240-567-5463
    Office Hours: MW 10:45 - 11:45 a.m. or by appointment
    Oscar Zimerman
    Email: Oscar.Zimerman@montgomerycollege.edu
    Spring 2014 Courses: CH204 lecture/discussion/lab
    Office: SC 336, 240-567-7637
    Office Hours: T 5:00 -6:00 p.m. or by appointment