MONTGOMERY COLLEGE

Office of the President

October 23, 2015

MEMORANDUM

To: Montgomery College Colleagues

From: Dr. DeRionne P. Pollard, President

Subject: Appointment of Self-Study Steering Committee

Since I appointed the three co-chairs of our self-study steering committee last spring—Dr. Eric Benjamin, Dr. Melissa Gregory, and Professor Tammy Peery—they have worked hard to share information and build awareness about our reaccreditation process across the College community. No doubt you have heard their messages, either at the Fall Opening Meeting, at a governance council meeting, or from them directly.

Based on the co-chairs' recommendations, I am pleased to appoint the full steering committee consisting of members from across the College community spectrum—faculty, staff, students, and administrators (please see their names below). These 36 individuals serve as the leadership group that will guide the completion of the self-study as well as the compliance report for our accreditor, the Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE). They will lead the workgroups that will do the detailed work of review and analysis based on the seven standards in MSCHE's *Standards for Accreditation and Requirements of Affiliation*.

Our efforts this fall are focused on preparing for the research and analysis work to come during the 2016 calendar year. The steering committee will hold a kickoff meeting next week. The co-chairs will attend a special MSCHE conference early next month, and our Middle States liaison will visit the College on Friday, November 13, for a series of meetings with the steering committee and others involved in our review process. I know that numerous faculty and staff will attend the Middle States annual conference in early December. In addition, faculty, staff, students, and administrators will be contacted to serve on workgroups before the end of the semester.

Recall that every 10 years, colleges in our region of the country undergo a comprehensive reaccreditation process by MSCHE, and each area of the College has a role in the accreditation process. Montgomery College was accredited shortly after opening in 1946 and has been reaccredited in every cycle since then. The current cycle will culminate in the spring of 2018 when a review team will visit the College and prepare a recommendation for the Middle States commission.

Being accredited signifies a level of quality about a college's operations and reputation. Students can use federal financial aid only at accredited institutions. In addition, transferring students' credits must come from an accredited school in order to be recognized by the receiving school. While the current self-study and compliance report is part of the 10-year review cycle, it is important to note that this cycle is currently under review by MSCHE and may be shortened to an eight-year cycle in the future.

I thank all of the individuals on the steering committee as well as every member of the College community for taking an active role in this critical review and self-study process. And thank you for your deep dedication to our students and the mission of Montgomery College to empower them to change their lives.

STEERING COMMITTEE

Co-chairs

- Dr. Eric Benjamin, Chair of the Education and Psychology Department
- Dr. Melissa Gregory, Chief Enrollment Services and Financial Aid Officer
- **Professor Tammy Peery**, English and Reading

Members

- Professor Sonia Pruneda-Hernandez, Education—Co-chair of Standard 1 Workgroup
- **Dr. Clevette Ridguard**, College Area Review Coordinator and Research Associate—Cochair of Standard 1 Workgroup
- **Donna Schena**, Associate Senior Vice President for Administrative and Fiscal Services— Co-chair of Standard 1 Workgroup
- Sarah Espinosa, College Ombuds—Co-chair of Standard 2 Workgroup
- **Dr. Jason Rivera**, Collegewide Director of Learning Centers—Co-chair of Standard 2 Workgroup
- Dr. Jack Sallie, Chair of Counseling Department—Co-chair of Standard 2 Workgroup
- **Camille Cauley**, Program Manager, Workforce Development & Continuing Education— Co-chair of Standard 3 Workgroup
- **Dr. Milton Nash**, Chair of the Mathematics Department—Co-chair of Standard 3 Workgroup
- Professor Samantha Streamer Veneruso, English—Co-chair of Standard 3 Workgroup
- **Professor Sue Haddad**, Chair of the Disability Support Services Department—Co-chair of Standard 4 Workgroup
- Eric Myren, Director of Student Employment Services—Co-chair of Standard 4 Workgroup
- Professor Usha Venkatesh, Chair of the AELP, Linguistics, and Communication Studies

Department—Co-chair of Standard 4 Workgroup

- **Professor Sarah Campbell**, World Languages and Philosophy—Co-chair of Standard 5 Workgroup
- John Hamman, Dean of Mathematics—Co-chair of Standard 5 Workgroup
- Dr. Cassandra Jones, Director of Assessment—Co-chair of Standard 5 Workgroup
- Professor Andrea Foster, Business Administration—Co-chair of Standard 6 Workgroup
- **Dr. Beatrice Lauman**, Academic Operations and Special Projects Director—Co-chair of Standard 6 Workgroup
- Dr. Kevin Long, Senior Planning and Policy Analyst—Co-chair of Standard 6 Workgroup
- Maria Adams, Coordinator of Admissions and Recruiting—Co-chair of Standard 7 Workgroup
- **Dr. Tacy Holliday**, Director of Governance, Presidential Projects, and Institutional Initiatives—Co-chair of Standard 7 Workgroup
- **Professor Karen Thomas**, Health Enhancement, Exercise Science, and Physical Education—Co-chair of Standard 7 Workgroup
- Dr. Monica Brown, Senior Vice President for Student Services—Ex officio Member
- Dr. Stephen Cain, Chief of Staff/Chief Strategy Officer—Ex officio Member and Liaison
- Dr. Sanjay Rai, Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs—Ex officio Member
- **David Sears**, Senior Vice President for Advancement and Community Engagement—Ex officio Member
- **Dr. Janet Wormack**, Senior Vice President for Administrative and Fiscal Services—Ex officio Member
- **George Payne**, Vice President and Provost, Applied Technologies, Gudelsky Institute for Technical Education, and Workforce Development & Continuing Education—Vice President and Provost Representative
- Dr. Sharon Fechter, Interim Dean of Humanities—Dean Representative
- Vicki Duggan, Chief Compliance Officer—Office of Compliance Representative
- **Dr. Michael Mills**, Vice President of E-Learning, Innovation, and Teaching Excellence— E-learning Representative
- Brandon Jasper, Student—Student Representative
- Ray Gilmer, Vice President of Communications—Communications Representative
- Kathleen Wessman, Vice President of Planning and Institutional Effectiveness— College's Middle State Liaison