MONTGOMERY COLLEGE Office of the President

Office of the President

March 10, 2016

MEMORANDUM

To:Montgomery College CommunityFrom:Dr. DeRionne P. Pollard, President

Subject: New Awards at Montgomery College

I am very pleased to announce the creation of three new awards at Montgomery College:

- the Montgomery College Full-Time Faculty of the Year Award,
- the Montgomery College Part-Time Faculty of the Year Award, and
- the Montgomery College Staff Member of the Year Award.

These new awards provide the College community with an opportunity to more thoroughly recognize excellence in a variety of positions at the College and, I believe, will add a special dimension to the awards we already provide.

The Full-Time Faculty of the Year Award and the Part-Time Faculty of the Year Award will celebrate excellence in teaching and/or counseling and academic advising. The Staff Member of the Year Award will recognize excellence in performance, leadership, and service. Each of the three award recipients will receive a \$5,000 cash award. Nominations for all three of these awards will be open until Friday, April 15, 2016. A full description of the awards, criteria, and requirements for nominations will be provided in announcements by Dr. Sanjay Rai, senior vice president for academic affairs, and by Dr. Janet Wormack, senior vice president for administrative and fiscal services, later this week.

Finalists for the awards will be recommend by two committees. A committee of eight members—five faculty members (including at least one counseling faculty member) selected by the Faculty Council, plus two administrators and a faculty committee chair appointed by Dr. Pollard—will evaluate nominations for faculty awards. The Staff Council will facilitate the selection of a committee to evaluate nominations for the staff award. This committee will include representatives from Academic Affairs, Administrative and Fiscal Services, Advancement and Community Engagement, Student Affairs, and the Office of the President. I will also appoint the chair of this evaluation committee as well.

The creation of these awards was based on recommendations made to me by two work groups. One, convened by Dr. Rai, explored the criteria for extraordinary performance by faculty. A workgroup organized by Dr. Wormack examined the criteria for staff excellence. Thank you to the members of both workgroups for their recommendations and contributions toward establishing these distinguished awards. I look forward to celebrating the accomplishments of our faculty and staff, and to presenting these awards during the collegewide closing meeting in May. These awards are a wonderful reminder of the extraordinary work of everyone in our College community who works to empower students to change their lives.