From: <u>DeRionne Pollard, Montgomery College President</u>

Subject: Appointment of President's Advisory Committee on Equity and Inclusion

Date: Thursday, October 19, 2017 3:10:29 PM

MONTGOMERY COLLEGE

Office of the President

October 19, 2017

MEMORANDUM

To: Montgomery College Colleagues

From: Dr. DeRionne P. Pollard, President

Subject: Appointment of President's Advisory Committee on Equity and Inclusion

In August I announced my intention to establish a Committee on Equity and Inclusion to advise Chief Equity and Inclusion Officer Sharon Bland and me on several important topics. I am pleased to announce that the people named below have been selected. I want to express my gratitude in advance for their willingness to devote time and attention to this priority at the College.

The committee will spend two years looking closely at the existing climates in our classrooms and work environments, and provide recommendations on how to reduce barriers to equal access, create practices that produce more equitable outcomes, and infuse more equitymindedness in our teaching and learning. The committee will also make recommendations about creating equity in our business practices. It will assist Ms. Bland in the creation of a master plan, with guidance on how to best build a culture of inclusive policies and procedures, programs, and initiatives.

Equity-mindedness is essential for student success as the College seeks to level the playing field of educational opportunity. Equity for College employees will also be an area of work for the committee, which will assess the extent to which College employees experience equal opportunities to train and advance professionally.

If you need further information about the work of this committee, please contact Sharon Bland, chief equity and inclusion officer, at 240-567-3080 or on College email.

President's Advisory Committee on Equity and Inclusion – Committee Members

Ms. Shakenna Adams, Financial Aid Specialist

Ms. Kaaren Agnez, Professor

Ms. Erica Bailey, Human Resources Associate

Mr. Samuel Bannerman, Organizational Development Specialist

Dr. Eric Benjamin, Department Chair

Ms. Diana Benson, Education Specialist

Dr. Rachel Bonaparte, Assistant Professor

Ms. Nicholle Brazil, Enrollment Services Specialist

- Dr. Debra Bright, Associate Dean of Student Affairs
- Mr. Reginald Cabrera, Building Services Supervisor
- Ms. Genevieve Carminati, Professor
- Dr. Akhtar Chowdhury, Instructional Lab Coordinator
- Mr. Matthew Colburn, Lecturer
- Ms. Tiffany Copeland, Associate Professor
- Ms. Maria Adams Davidson, Associate Compliance Specialist
- Mr. Ramon De La Cruz, CT Building Coordinator
- Dr. Mohibullah Durrani, Professor
- Ms. D. Francine Farr, Adjunct Professor
- Mr. Linwood Ferguson, Instructional Associate
- Mr. Ray Gilmer, Vice President of Communications
- Mr. Steve Greenfield, Instructional Dean
- Ms. Stacey Gustavson, Enrollment & Student Access Manager
- Ms. Sue Salim Haddad, Collegewide DSS Department Chair
- Dr. Vidham Karpakahunjaram, Professor
- Ms. Stacy Keller, Accessible Technology Coordinator
- Ms. Katie Mount, Counseling Department Chair
- Mr. Christopher Moy, Director of ADA Compliance
- Ms. Nancy Newton, Special Programs Director
- Ms. Frances Nolen, Chemistry Lab Coordinator
- Nebhet Nu-Annan, ESOL Instructor
- Ms. Ellen Olmstead, English & Reading Department Chair
- Ms. Eniola Olowofoyeku, Counseling/Advising Program Coordinator
- Mr. Brad Pabian, ACES Academic Coach
- Ms. Karen Penn de Martinez, Professor
- Mr. Dennis Pereira, Facilities Materials Specialist
- Ms. Nadine Porter, Associate Senior Vice President for Administrative & Fiscal Services
- Ms. Sherry Randolph, Administrative Aide
- Dr. Mary Robinson, English & Reading Department Chair
- Ms. Andrea Rodriguez, ACES Academic Coach
- Ms. Emily Rosado, Associate Professor
- Dr. Elena Saenz, Director of Academic Initiatives
- Mr. Luis Santiago, Safety & Security Shift Supervisor
- Ms. Donna Schena, Associate Senior Vice President for Administrative & Fiscal Services
- Ms. Karla Silvestre, Director of Community Engagement
- Dr. Denise Simmons Graves, Counselor
- Dr. James Sniezek, Instructional Dean
- Ms. Phiri Esi Tawanda, Student Council representative
- Ms. Pamela Taylor, Administrative Aide
- Dr. David S. Torain II, Professor
- Ms. Amy Tutt, Government Relations Operations Director
- Ms. Farah Vivas, Human Resources Associate
- Ms. Julie Weber, College Ombuds
- Ms. Laura White, Human Resources Specialist