

To: Montgomery College Community

From: Dr. Jermaine F. Williams, President

Subject: Appointment of Presidential Transition Advisory Committee

Date: April 25, 2022

I am pleased to announce the appointment of three co-chairs and 28 members of the Presidential Transition Advisory Committee (PTAC). The PTAC is comprised of a diverse representation of the College's faculty, staff, students, and administrators, as well as community members. The committee will facilitate a collaborative, inclusive, and seamless process to assist me in connecting and engaging with the College community, as well as introducing and acclimating me to the county, state, and region.

The presidential transition process will provide important opportunities for the College and community to (1) celebrate a new beginning, (2) identify and prioritize major strategic objectives and action steps to help guide my leadership, (3) focus on the traditional work that must be accomplished, and (4) concentrate on a future that is transformational. I appreciate that we are beginning this journey with a collective goal of advancing Montgomery College.

With the leadership of the Presidential Transition Advisory Committee co-chairs, the committee held its first meeting on April 21 and will conclude its work by September, 2022. If necessary, this timeline will be extended. The co-chairs are:

- Ms. Kimberly Jones, Director of Student Life at Takoma Park/Silver Spring, Chair of the College Council
- Dr. Frieda Lacey, Second Vice Chair, Montgomery College Board of Trustees
- Mr. Ben Wu, President & CEO, Montgomery County Economic Development Corporation, Former Montgomery College Trustee

Presidential Transition Advisory Committee Members

- Ms. Mary Pat Alcus, Institutional Investment Advisor; Vice Chair, Montgomery College Foundation
- Ms. Maria-Elvira Luna Escudero-Alie. Chair of Humanities
- Ms. Carole Carlson, Alumni Association
- Mr. Chris Cusic, Interim Director of Instructional Technology
- Ms. Jackie DeCarlo, Executive Director, Manna
- Dr. Linda Ferrell, Special Assistant to MCPS Superintendent
- Ms. Rebecca Fuchs, MC Student

- Ms. Angela Graham, President & CEO, Quality Biological, Member, PIC MC Foundation Board
- Ms. Chevelle Glymph, Director of Public Health and Environmental Safety
- Ms. Lupi Quintero Grady, Executive Director of the Latin American Youth Center
- Mr. Javon Inman, IT Support Specialist & MS Exchange Administrator
- Dr. Vedham Karpakakunjaram, Professor of Biology
- Dr. Muhammad Kehnemouyi, Dean, Science, Engineering & Technology
- Dr. Anne Khademian, Executive Director, Universities at Shady Grove
- Ms. Carmen Larsen, President of Hispanic Chamber of Commerce of Montgomery County and Chair of the Board, CEO of AQUAS, Inc.
- Mr. Mark Levine, Faculty
- Mr. Yihao Lin, MC Student
- Mr. Andres Maldonado, ACES Academic Coach
- Ms. Sharon Maxwell, Program Director, Transportation and Public Safety for WDCE
- Dr. Monifa McKnight, Superintendent of Schools, Montgomery County Public Schools
- Dr. Kimberly McNair, Director of College Access and Enrollment
- Ms. Maria Nachivula, MC Student
- Ms. Nancy Newton, Grants and Sponsored Programs Manager—WDCE/Other Grant Support
- Dr. Mary Robinson, Professor, English/Reading Department
- Ms. Pat Ruppert, PT Faculty, Philosophy, Global Humanities, Women's & Gender Studies
- Ms. Farah Vivas, Human Resources Specialist
- Mr. Kenneth White, Minority Chamber of Commerce Chair, Senior Vice President and Relationship Manager of Sandy Spring Bank
- Mr. Elias Woldu, Director Ethiopian Community Center in Maryland

The work of the Presidential Transition Advisory Committee will be supported by a range of expertise across the College. The following people will make up the Presidential Transition resource team and will serve as resources in the transition planning process:

- Ms. Bridget Abraham, Board of Trustees Operations and Services Specialist
- Dr. Monica Brown, Senior Vice President for Student Affairs
- Mr. Sherwin Collette, Senior Vice President for Administrative and Fiscal Services
- Dr. Meghan Gibbons, Deputy Chief of Staff for Presidential Publications and Operations
- Mr. Ray Gilmer, Associate Senior Vice President for Advancement and Community Engagement
- Ms. Lily Lee, Manager, Board Operations and Services
- Ms. Susan Madden, Chief Government Relations Officer
- Ms. Joyce Matthews, Interim Senior Vice President for Advancement & Community Engagement
- Ms. Lisannie Montilla, Executive Assistant to the President
- Dr. Sanjay Rai, Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs
- Dr. Clevette Ridguard, Governance Director and Manager of Presidential Projects

In addition to these participants, additional internal and external constituents will be engaged with PTAC as needed.

I want to thank the members of the committee and resource team members for their commitment, as well as the dozens of College employees and students who offered their names to serve.