

To: Montgomery College Colleagues

From: Dr. Jermaine F. Williams, President

Subject: Appointment of 2027 Self-Study Steering Committee

Date: April 25, 2024

Montgomery College was accredited shortly after opening in 1946 by the Middles States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) and has been reaccredited in every cycle since then. Being accredited signifies a level of quality about a college's operations and reputation. Students can use federal financial aid only at accredited institutions. In addition, transferring students' credits must come from an accredited school in order to be recognized by the receiving school. Previously, the MSCHE reaccreditation cycles were 10 years. Going forward, they will take place every eight years.

The College's next reaccreditation process with MSCHE is scheduled to occur in 2027. As part of the reaccreditation process, an institution researches and composes a Self-Study, which plays a major role in the process. It is time to launch the work on our Self-Study, and I am pleased to appoint three co-chairs to lead this effort: **Tonya Addleman, Janeé McFadden, and Dr. Glenda Hernández Tittle**. In selecting these co-chairs, the College sought to combine a diversity of experience, identity, and expertise at our institution.

I am also appointing the **Self-Study Steering Committee**, whose members' names are listed below. The members represent the full College community spectrum—faculty, staff, and administrators. Students will also have a voice and role in the process. This committee, led by the co-chairs, will serve as the leadership body to guide the completion of the Self-Study. It will lead the workgroups that will do the detailed work of review and analysis based on the seven standards in MSCHE's *Standards for Accreditation and Requirements of Affiliation*. Membership on the workgroups will be constituted in fall 2024 to ensure broad representation from our College community, so please watch for additional ways to participate.

The Steering Committee will hold a kickoff meeting before the end of this semester and work to complete the Self-Study by fall 2026, after which it will be submitted to MSCHE. The College's Chief Analytics and Insights Officer, Dr. John Hamman, serves as the College's accreditation liaison officer, and will be the convener of this group. The reaccreditation process will culminate in spring of 2027 when a review team will visit the College and then will prepare a recommendation for the Middle States Commission.

MSCHE assigns a liaison from the commission's office to advise the College in the reaccreditation process. Our liaison is expected to visit MC in 2026 for a series of meetings with the Steering Committee and others involved in our review process.

The co-chairs and several committee members will attend a special Self-Study institute put on by MSCHE later this year and several members of the College will attend the annual MSCHE conference in December to help us prepare for this work.

I thank the co-chairs, the members of the Steering Committee, and every member of the College community for taking an active role in this critical review and Self-Study process.

SELF-STUDY STEERING COMMITTEE

Co-chairs

Tonya Addleman Administrative Manager, Germantown

Janeé McFadden Collegewide Dean of Student Engagement and TP/SS

Student Affairs

Dr. Glenda Hernández Tittle Faculty, Elementary/Secondary Education/Early Childhood

Education Senior Program Director

Members

Dr. Stephen Cain

Steve Greenfield

Dr. John Hamman

Sharon Anthony Faculty/Department Chair, English and Reading,

Germantown

Dr. Eric Benjamin Interim Vice President and Provost, Rockville Campus,

Arts, Business, Education, English, and Social Sciences

Chief of Staff/Chief Strategy Officer

Mary DeLuca Associate Senior Vice President for Marketing &

Communications

Liz Greaney Chief Business-Financial Strategy Officer

Dr. Melissa Gregory Associate Senior Vice President for Student Affairs

Interim Vice President and Provost, Applied Technologies,

Gudelsky Institute for Technical Education, and Workforce Development and Continuing Education

Chief Analytics & Insights Officer

Dr. Cassandra Jones Director of Assessment

Kimberly Jones Interim Chief Equity and Inclusion Officer

Dr. Vedham Karpakakunjaram Faculty, Biology, Rockville

Elizabeth Kirby Faculty/Department Chair, Counseling and Advising,

Rockville

Barbara LaPilusa Faculty, Counseling and Advising, Germantown

Dr. Milton Nash Dean of Instruction, Mathematics, Statistics, and Data

Science

Dr. Clevette Ridguard Director of Governance and Presidential Projects

Faculty/Department Chair, Department of Health

Enhancement, Exercise Science, and Physical

Education

r. Elena Saenz Associate Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

Special Assistant to the President for Board Relations,

Operations, and Services

Director of Planning and Policy

Chief Compliance, Risk, and Ethics Officer

Dr. Elena Saenz Dr. Michelle Scott

Elizabeth Ridings

Dr. Michelle Scott

Dr. Debbie Van Camp

Susan Watson